Photography equipment – creating a newborn backdrop frame

During numerous newborn shoots I remember longing for smooth, taut fabric, free of wrinkles and a lot easier on the editing time. I always tried to borrow a pair of hands to pull the fabric a little and the parents were always willing to help. But between you and me I’d rather they put their feet up….they’re parents of a new born after all, they need their rest!

So what could I do to reduce the need for help? I remember seeing a stand for sale online, a photography equipment sale somewhere but I wanted it now! Right now! I didn’t want to wait for shipping and hated having to spend days at home for a delivery window of twelve hours. I could visualise what it looked like and my very handy husband was at home. Perfect. I set about drawing up a design and sent my husband out to purchase materials.

A couple of hours later, voila!

13995564_1818217401740563_4104079981165590108_o

It didn’t need to be aesthetically pleasing, just practical. All I needed was frame over which fabric could sit and be clipped to and it needed to have enough height for the posing pillow to sit comfortably underneath. With such a small studio I needed to be able to take it apart easily and store without taking up much space too.

It certainly does the trick and has been used with great success.

16003307_1896695997226036_8659565745978870762_n

 

Leave a Reply

