The Portrait of a Pug

Dogs should be easy to photograph because they’re so obedient, right?… Not if you’re photographing a pug!

I had never photographed my two pugs on set before and thought ‘I’ve got a free hour or two, why not?’

Betty and Daisy are four years old, sisters and very excitable. It took me at least ten minutes to calm them down once they saw the photo set. Easily excitable I know…or they just realised their opportunity to be mischievous!!

‘Lazy Daisy’ didn’t take long to calm down. She is a fawn pug, as wide as she is tall and when she finds a comfy spot that’s it, it’s hers. You just then have a struggle getting her to move at all. Luckily for me she chose a spot right in the centre of the backdrop.

The only difficulty was making her smile for the camera!  This is her happy face by the way 🙂

1560380_10153225392530097_3845487534735711562_n

Getting both Betty and Daisy to sit together on set and wait patiently was a challenge. If they’re not snuffling for crumbs they’re wrestling! So that’s where some bribery came in useful. I packed my pocket with little biscuit treats and waited for their attention. It’s amazing what a pug will do for food.

Once they settled I shifted them around slightly into the best position. They might be small dogs but my goodness they carry some weight. I told them to ‘sleep’ and they put their heads down, I kept my fingers crossed and they stayed like that until I’d taken a few shots.

10553701_10153225392650097_2880700601365190022_o

I must admit they did really well for their first shoot and I was really pleased. Now I just need to find the energy for their second photo session.  I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

